

#### SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER DISTRICT YOUTH COMMISSION MEETING

# **MINUTES**

### **WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 24, 2022**

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regular meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water District Youth Commission (Youth Commission) was held on August 24, 2022, at Headquarters Building Boardroom, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose CA 95118.

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Commission Chair Anika Kulkarni called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m.

#### 1.1 ROLL CALL

A quorum was established with 14 Members present.

#### Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Representative</u>	Representative
District 1	Ana Torrico	Eileen Tran	Joshua Wei
District 2	Emily Gao	Danica Kubota	
District 3	Anika Kulkarni	Vaibhavi Kulkarni	Ivan Zhang
District 4	Agata Bak	Sairama Nisitha Kakulapati	
District 5	Pramath Doddaballapur	Daniel Shih	Daphne Zhu
District 6	Nilansh (Neil) Dey Ghosh	Jonathan Lopez	Nancy Malu Romero Ordoňez
District 7	Maitreya Banerjee	Oded Bronicki	Patrick Van Kerckhove

#### Members not in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	Representative	
District 2	Niharika Koduru	

Valley Water Staff in attendance were: Glenna Brambill, Andrew (Andy) Gschwind, Janet Hedley, Nick Ingram, Robert Marmito, Clarissa Sangalang, Sherilyn Tran, and Kristen Yasukawa.

#### 2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

#### 3. WELCOME

Andrew (Andy) Gschwind welcomed the Youth Commissioners and some of the expectations for the upcoming meetings.

#### 4. **OATH OF OFFICE**

Glenna Brambill administered the Oath of Office to 13 Youth Commissioners: Ana Torrico, Eileen Tran, and Joshua Wei (District 1), Emma Gao and Danica Kubota (District 2), Ivan Zhang, (District 3), Agata Bak and Sairama Nisitha Kakulapati (District 4), Daphne Zhu (District 5), Jonathan Lopez, and Nancy Malu Romero Ordoňez, (District 6), Maitreya Banerjee and Patrick Van Kerckhove (District 7).

#### **INTRODUCTIONS** 5.

**5A. VALLEY WATER STAFF** introduced themselves with title and unit: Sherilyn Tran, Kristen Yasukawa, Nick Ingram, Robert Marmito, Glenna Brambill, Clarissa Sangalang, Andy Gschwind.

**5B. YOUTH COMMISSIONERS** introduced themselves with name, district they represent and school they attend: Ana Torrico, Eileen Tran, and Joshua Wei (District 1), Emma Gao and Danica Kubota (District 2), Anika Kulkarni, Vaibhavi Kulkarni, and Ivan Zhang, (District 3), Agata Bak and Sairama Nisitha Kakulapati (District 4), Pramath Doddaballapur, Daniel Shih, and Daphne Zhu (District 5), Nilansh "Neil" Dey Ghosh, Jonathan Lopez, and Nancy Malu Romero Ordoňez (District 6), Maitreya Banerjee, Oded Bronicki, and Patrick Van Kerckhove (District 7).

5C. INTERACTIVE ACTIVITY: The Youth Commissioners took a group photo with the





#### **MANAGER'S REPORT** 6.

Sherilyn Tran reported on the upcoming Youth Commission Retreat tentatively scheduled October 15th. It will be in-person from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. with a day filled with hands on experience, at the Don Edwards San Francisco Bay National Wildlife Refuge Environmental Education Center, learning about the Working Groups' purpose, who the leaders are, also looking at the work plan and taking a tour of the Silicon Valley Water Advanced Purification Center.

#### 7. ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

The Youth Commission elected Anika Kulkarni as the 2022-2023 Chair and Vaibhavi Kulkarni as the 2022-2023 Vice Chair.

## 8. APPROVAL OF MINUTES 8.1 APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Nilansh (Neil) Dey Ghosh, seconded by Maitreya Banerjee, and unanimously carried, to approve the February 23, 2022, Santa Clara Valley Water District Youth Commission meeting minutes as presented.

#### 9. ACTION ITEMS

# 9.1 UPDATE FROM SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER DISTRICT YOUTH COMMISSION'S WORKING GROUPS

Youth Commission Chair Anika Kulkarni and Sherilyn Tran reviewed the following, with reports from the below Youth Commissioners:

The Youth Commission reported on the following Working Groups' activities:

### Youth Citizen Science Network Working Group (YCSNWG):

Vaibhavi Kulkarni reported the drought awareness campaign, saving water, youth toolkit, social media posts, phase 2 of the campaign, more information can be seen on the youth commission web page. There is still time to take pictures for the campaign.

#### Public Art Working Group (PAWG):

Oded Bronicki reported on the progress of the pilot mural project, on July 23<sup>rd</sup> was a fun paint day joined by 6 water ambassadors, directors, and members of the public. The artist Paul J. Gonzalez will be finishing the mural. Information can be seen on the youth commission web page.

## Creek Stewardship Working Group (CSWG):

Nick Ingram thanked the youth commissioners that participated for the May 2I, 2022, River Clean Up Day, Director Hsueh, Water Ambassadors, and members of the public that joined. September 17, 2022, Coastal Clean-up Day is coming up please help to spread the word!

#### Job Shadow/Mentoring Working Group (JSMWG):

Sherilyn Tran reported on February 2022's Job Shadow Day (JSD), and planning for the 2023 JSD will begin shortly after the Retreat. Proposed JSD is February 23. 2023.

The Santa Clara Valley Water District Youth Commission took no action.

# 9. 2 REVIEW AND DISCUSS SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER DISTRICT YOUTH COMMISSION WORK PLAN, AND PROPOSE THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item. The next meeting is November 16, 2022.

The Youth Commission took no action.

# 10. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Glenna Brambill reported there were no action items for Board consideration.

## 11. ADJOURN

Chair Anika Kulkarni adjourned 7:01 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, November 16, 2022, at 6:00 p.m.

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 11-16-2022